Type to search

Super Bowl Highlights and Facts

Super Bowl I was held on January 15, 1967 at Los Angeles, California’s Memorial Coliseum. The Kansas City Chiefs and the Green Bay Packers were the two teams that battled one another during that first national championship game. Legendary NFL coach, Vince Lombardi, led the charge.

Early Super Bowl Wins With The Green Bay Packers

Bart Starr quarterbacked the Packers during Super Bowl I. However, as reported at the NFL’s official website and betting online bonus website, it was a 50-yard interception run by safety Willie Wood that helped to seal the Kansas City Chiefs’ fate. Green Bay went on to win that first championship game by 25 points with the final score being Packers, 35 and Chiefs, 10. Hard to believe, but back then football players on the winning team only collected $15,000 per man for the game.

The Green Bay Packers made a second appearance at Super Bowl II. Difference was that instead of the Kansas City Chiefs, the Packers faced the Oakland Raiders. Green Bay took home the crown again with a winning score of 33-14. As he had done the previous year, Bart Starr took home the trophy for Most Valuable Player (MVP). Vince Lombardi was carried off the field in a fitting celebration; it would be his last season as the Packers head coach.

New York’s Broadway Joe Namath

“Broadway Joe” Namath made his debut at the big dance during Super Bowl III. The New York Jets were playing the Baltimore Colts. (In 1984 the team that was founded in 1953 in Baltimore, changed its name to the Indianapolis Colts and moved to the Hoosier state.)

An injured Johnny Unitas came off the bench to lead the Colts to their only touchdown. Unitas’ golden arm was on the decline while “Broadway Joe” was making more of a name for himself. When it was all said and done, Joe Namath and the New York Jets walked off the champions with a winning score of 16-7.

Historic Super Bowl Victories

Orange towels reigned supreme from the mid-1970s through the start of the new decade. Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris and the formidable “steel curtain” won an impressive four Super Bowls titles from 1975 through 1980. Super Bowl XIII matched the Pittsburgh Steelers against the Dallas Cowboys. Anticipation around the game that was played on January 18, 1976 in Miami, Florida was intense.

Two of America’s favorite professional football teams were vying for national bragging rights. On paper, it was clear that either team could win it all. However, Terry Bradshaw and Lynn Swann proved to be too much for Dallas’ Roger Staubach and Drew Pearson. Before the game was over, Lynn Swann had caught four passes for a record 161 yards. The Steelers won the game by a score of 21-17.

NFL history was made again on January 31, 1988 when Doug Williams became the first African American quarterback to lead a professional football team to the national title. The game was held in San Diego, California at the Jack Murphy Stadium. Doug kept his cool under the intense media and fan glare. He led the Washington Redskins to a commanding 42-10 win over the Denver Broncos.

Super Bowl Memorabilia

Super Bowl memorabilia is a great way for football fans to remember the game and the teams that climbed their way to the top of the league at different times throughout the last few decades. National Football League (NFL) jerseys, caps, t-shirts, sweats, umbrellas and jackets are available in sizes for children, teenagers, women and men. Football fans, former football players, coaches and their family members can get the popular and fashionable gear from several companies including Modell’s, the NFL Store and Dicks Sporting Goods.

Most Super Bowl Wins by NFL Teams

Many NFL teams have won multiple Super Bowls but only three have won five or more of the championship games: the Pittsburgh Steelers, San Francisco 49ers, and the Dallas Cowboys.

Pittsburgh Steelers – Six Super Bowl Wins

The Pittsburgh Steelers take the top spot as winners of the most Super Bowls. Having played in seven games, the team has won six giving them an 87.5% winning record.

Super Bowl IX – Tulane Stadium, New Orleans, Louisiana – January 12, 1975: The Pittsburgh Steelers won their first NFL championship against the Minnesota Vikings with a final score of 16-6. Running back Franco Harris was the game’s Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Super Bowl X – Orange Bowl, Miami, Florida – January 18, 1976: Pittsburgh defeated the Dallas Cowboys with a final score of 21-17. Wide receiver Lynn Swann was the MVP.

Super Bowl XIII – Orange Bowl, Miami, Florida – January 21, 1979: The Pittsburgh Steelers opposed the Dallas Cowboys for a second time, winning the game 35-31. Quarterback Terry Bradshaw was the game’s MVP.

Super Bowl XIV – Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California – January 20, 1980: Pittsburgh won its fourth NFL title in defeating Los Angeles Rams with a final score of 31-19. Terry Bradshaw repeated as the MVP.

Super Bowl XL – Ford Field, Detroit Michigan – February 5, 2006: The Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Seattle Seahawks by a score of 21-10. Wide receiver Hines Ward was the game’s MVP.

Super Bowl XLIII – Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, Florida – February 1, 2009: Pittsburgh earned their sixth NFL title by defeating the Arizona Cardinals 27-23. Wide receiver Santonio Homes was the game’s MVP.

San Francisco 49ers – Five Super Bowl Wins

The San Francisco 49ers have won five of the Super Bowls they participated in and are the only NFL team to have a 100% winning record after competing in three or more Super Bowl games.

Super Bowl XVI – Pontiac Silverdome, Pontiac, Michigan – January 24, 1982: The 49ers won their first NFL championship by defeating the Cincinnati Bengals with a score of 26-21. Quarterback Joe Montana earned the MVP honors.

Super Bowl XIX – Stanford Stadium, Palo Alto, California – January 20, 1985: The 49ers met the Miami Dolphins and won by the score 38-16. Joe Montana was the game’s MVP.

Super Bowl XXIII – Joe Robbie Stadium, Miami, Florida – January 22, 1989: San Francisco beat the Cincinnati Bengals in their second championship match-up 20-16. Wide receiver Jerry Rice took the MVP honors.

Super Bowl XXIV – Louisiana Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana – January 28, 1990: The 49ers dominated the Denver Broncos in the most lopsided victory in Super Bowl history with a final score of 55-10. Joe Montana won the MVP award for a third time.

Super Bowl XXIX – Joe Robbie Stadium, Miami, Florida – January 29, 1995: San Francisco met challenged the San Diego Chargers and won with a score of 49-26. Quarterback Steve Young was the game’s MVP.

Dallas Cowboys – Five Super Bowl Wins

Holding the record for the most Super Bowl appearances at eight, the Dallas Cowboys have won five NFL championship titles to hold a 62.5 win percentage.

Super Bowl VI – Tulane Stadium, New Orleans, Louisiana – January 16, 1972: The Dallas Cowboys squared off against the Miami Dolphins, winning the game 24-3. Quarterback Roger Staubach earned the MVP honors.

Super Bowl XII – Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana – January 15, 1978: Dallas defeated the Denver Broncos 27-10. Defensive tackle Randy White and defensive end Harvey Martin were co-MVPs for the game.

Super Bowl XXVII – Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California – January 31, 1993: The Cowboys faced the Buffalo Bills and won by a score of 52-17. Quarterback Troy Aikman was voted as the game MVP.

Super Bowl XXVIII – Georgia Dome, Atlanta, Georgia – January 30, 1994: Dallas met Buffalo for a second consecutive championship and defeated them 30-13. Running back Emmitt Smith was the game’s MVP.

Super Bowl XXX – Sun Devil Stadium, Phoenix, Arizona – January 28, 1996: Dallas won their first Super Bowl victory against the Pittsburgh Steelers, winning with a final score of 27-17. Cornerback Larry Brown was awarded the MVP title.

Ed Rooney

Just a guy with too much free time trying to help out.