Type to search

Ty Montgomery Remains 88, Martellus Bennett Is 80

Word was that Ty Montgomery would be — and league rules seemed to dictate that — changing his number after transitioning from receiver to running back.

He is not.

Montgomery announced that he’d keep No. 88 over the weekend.

Frankly, I think that’s great. Who else has a running back that wears No. 88?

I’ll tell ya who. Not a goddam team in the league.

You get on with your bad self, Ty Montgomery!

Meanwhile, the Packers’ newest toy, tight end Martellus Bennett, let fans choose his number. He clearly has no attachment to any two digits.

Even though we made a strong case for No. 86, fans went with James Lofton’s No. 80 for Bennett.

Yes, also Donald Driver’s No. 80, but one of those two guys is in the Hall of Fame, so more so James Lofton’s No. 80.

And that’s fine. It’s going to be fun to have a guy like Martellus Bennett around.

What’s on your mind, Holmes?

Mordecai Jones

Mordecai is a writer living in Los Angeles. He primarily writes screenplays, but also does crap like this because GREEN BAY PACKERS, baby!



  1. Ace March 13, 2017

    Riveting news you’re reporting right here. Geez a whole article on that??

  2. MJ March 13, 2017

    Bennett has the glorious Perillo’s number now.

  3. PF4L March 13, 2017

    Actually, this article might be very relevant.

    It seems to me that i recall last season statement’s were made that Ty would be getting a new # (from the Packers). It looks as if that has changed. So you can’t help but wonder if his desire to be a running back has changed also.

    1. NachoDan March 13, 2017

      Did you read the tweet from Montgomery in the article??? It clearly states he is not required to change his number.

      1. PF4L March 13, 2017

        Did i say he was required too, or bring it up?

      2. PF4L March 14, 2017

        Green Bay Packers ✔ @packers

        McCarthy on @TyMontgomery2: He’s a running back. He wants to change his number & that’s the way we’re going.
        10:43 AM – 26 Jan 2017