Type to search

Reminder: Brett Favre is Going Into the Hall of Fame

Brett Favre

This is all a formality, you see.

Former Green Bay Packers quarterback Brett Favre will be going into the Hall of Fame later this year.

He just hasn’t officially been elected yet.

The NFL announced 15 Hall of Fame finalists on Thursday, with Favre among those. And the only question is who will be going in with the old cockslinger.

The other modern day finalists are Terrell Owens, Alan Faneca, Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Don Coryell, Terrell Davis, Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Joe Jacoby, Edgerrin James, John Lynch, Orlando Pace and Kurt Warner.

They’re joined by two senior finalists — Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel — and one contributor finalist, former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr.

A maximum of eight players can be elected and each must receive 80 percent approval by the selection committee.

So who goes in with Favre?

That’s tough to say, but we’d be willing to bet that Owens and DeBartolo are pretty near locks.

We’d love to see former Packers outside linebackers coach Kevin Greene get his due, but this is his fifth time as a finalist. He’s still third on the all-time sacks list at 160, but for one reason or another, some people just don’t want him in the Hall.

On the flip side, if Terrell Fucking Davis ever gets elected, then they better start bronzing Sterling Sharpe’s bust immediately.

Davis was great for a short period of time before his career was cut short by knee injuries. Similarly, Sharpe was the best receiver in the game not named Jerry Rice during his career, which was cut short by a neck injury.

Sharpe actually had a number of better seasons statistically than Rice during his career.

How Davis gets consideration and Sharpe doesn’t is a sham, particularly when you consider the bozos Sharpe had to play with.

They were a bunch of clowns and Sharpe still couldn’t be stopped!

Like a freight train, man! Choo! Choo!

Monty McMahon

Monty McMahon is one of the founders of Total Packers. He is probably the most famous graduate of UW-Oshkosh next to Jim Gantner.



  1. Vano Lucas January 8, 2016

    Favre should be a unanimous pick. He’s one of the very best QBs in NFL history. The real crime is that Jerry Kramer has never been inducted. I’ve been watching the NFL since the ’50s and I rank Kramer and Gene Upshaw as the two greatest offensive guards I ever saw play.

    1. the real jeff ircink January 8, 2016

      Favre = yep. Kramer = yep.

  2. Eduardo January 8, 2016

    Terrell Owens…..what a fucking joke.

    1. Cheese January 8, 2016


  3. Deepsky January 8, 2016

    Sharpe was one of the all time greats. Year after year he outperformed Cris Carter and that guy got into the Hall of Fame.

  4. Kato January 8, 2016

    Its a joke that Davis gets consideration and not Sharpe. Davis is riding the coat tails of that 2000 yard season

  5. SIM January 8, 2016

    Kurt Warner

  6. Jschizl January 8, 2016

    Good job bert

  7. Calico January 8, 2016

    4 gave it all, every game, every play. Led to a bunch of INT’s no doubt, but also a lot of TD’s and completions and wins. Even in dreadful 4-12 and 6-10 seasons, he tried to win every game. One of a kind and one for the ages.

  8. Vano Lucas January 9, 2016

    Couldn’t agree more, Calico.