Type to search

Green. Bay. Packers.

How the hell the Dallas Cowboys came in second is the real head scratcher. Oh, that’s right. It’s because Cowboys fans don’t actually know anything about football.

The Packers won five championships in the 1960s — 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966 and 1967. Dallas had three in the 1990s — 1992, 1993 and 1995.

The Pittsburgh Steelers probably have the best argument here. They won championships in 1974, 1975, 1978 and 1979. But that doesn’t add up to five or more, does it?

I do love this, though. Steelers fans love to point out that they won Super Bowls in the 1970s and that they have more Super Bowl wins than the Packers (six to four). Presumably, they are suggesting that if the title game wasn’t called the Super Bowl, then it was somehow easier to win, thus devaluing the Packers’ NFL Championships of 1961, 1962 and 1965.

Because… I don’t know… the best football players didn’t by and large play in the NFL prior to the creation of the NFL-AFL title game?

Oh, wait a second. Yes they did.

At any rate, to round out the group…

The San Francisco 49ers of the 1980s won in 1981, 1984, 1988 and 1989 and they were certainly the greatest dynasty I’ve ever witnessed first hand. That’s right, Dallas.

Finally, the cheaters from New England won in 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2014, but do they really belong in the same echelon as these other teams?

I don’t think so.

Monty McMahon

Monty McMahon is one of the founders of Total Packers. He is probably the most famous graduate of UW-Oshkosh next to Jim Gantner.


1 Comment

  1. Deepsky May 18, 2015

    The Cowboys are South America’s team. Kids from Mexico and Columbia and Nicaragua all vote for them.