Aaron Rodgers

It was pretty anticlimactic in the end.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers got the award everyone figured he would — the NFL MVP — and it wasn’t even close. Rodgers received 48 or a possible 50 votes. New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees received the other two votes.

Although Brees set the all-time, single-season NFL passing yardage record (5,476 yards), Rodgers threw fewer interceptions (six to Brees’ 14), had a better average per pass (9.2 to 8.3), a better rating (122.5 to 110.6) and ran for more yards and touchdowns (257 and three to 86 and one). Brees threw one more touchdown than Rodgers (46 to 45), but also had 155 more attempts.

The Packers finished 15-1 and the Saints were 13-3.

Brees didn’t come away empty handed, though. He took home offensive player of the year honors.

Rodgers joins Brett Favre, Jim Taylor and Bart Starr among Packers who won the MVP.